Coding Weapon Glow

Discussion in 'Released Mods' started by tregolani, Nov 11, 2012.

1. tregolani Green Slime

Hey guys!

So, I'm new to the modding scene, and wanted to work on making a few weapons as practice. However....I am struggling at the moment to get the weapons to glow.

I've been adding in Item Attributes (Lighted, light, Shine, Shine2) to the .ini files, but none of those seem to cause the weapon to emit a glow when used. I'd like to be able to reproduce both phaseblade-style glows (weapon color-based light, no particles) as well as particle glows (Hallowed weapons, Night's Edge, etc.)

Could someone give me a quick rundown of how to code that into a weapon/armor set/projectile?

Thanks!
  2. Surfpup Wandering Eye

Yea, here's a quick example:
    Code:
    public void UseItemEffect(Player player, Rectangle rectangle) {
        Color color = new Color();
        //This is the same general effect done with the Fiery Greatsword
        int type=6;
        int alpha=100;
        float scale=1.9f;
        int dust = Dust.NewDust(new Vector2((float) rectangle.X, (float) rectangle.Y), rectangle.Width, rectangle.Height, type, (player.velocity.X * 0.2f) + (player.direction * 3), player.velocity.Y * 0.2f, alpha, color, scale);
        Main.dust[dust].noGravity = true;
        Main.dust[dust].noLight = true;
    }
    This goes into the .cs file corresponding to the weapon. For instance, if the weapon is called "Nightmare" the code goes into "Nightmare.cs". You can customize various aspects of this; the wiki is a good resource to look at.
  3. tregolani Green Slime

Surfpup, do you think you could give me line-by-line comments for that code snippet so that I could understand what most of the code is actually saying?

Also, would this code work for an armor glow and/or tile glow as well, or are those different?