[Discussion/WIP] Is this possible?

Discussion in 'Released Mods' started by Raztraz, Dec 1, 2012.

1. Raztraz

Raztraz Green Slime

Hey everyone. I'm fairly new to modding and I'm wondering the possibilities of an idea that I have.
    So far I've done the basics. Make new ore, armor, some weapons, sprites. You know, all the easy stuff. I want to make this mod for post-hardmode. After hearing that there would be no more PC updates, I've turned to modding to make my own.

My idea is to expand the game into the sky. I really liked the floating islands and thought that there should be more above ground. I want to make land across the whole sky above the floating islands. My question is how would I go about generating land in the sky in existing worlds? Or is that even possible? I was thinking to generate it via an item that is crafted or dropped from a boss at the end of hardmode. And I would need to create a new biome that stretches across the whole sky.

Being new to terraria modding, I don't know how I could go about creating this. Some answers would be greatly appreciated, or help with coding would be even better.

Thank you.

2. Yoraiz0r

Yoraiz0r The Wizard

Generating land by itself isn't much of a simple concept , however modifying how the world looks in general is rather easy.
    lets go about some basics that you'd want to know........

On Main stuff...

Main.tile - this is a Tile object array , two dimensional and in the size of Main.maxTilesX and Main.maxTilesY.
    Main.maxTilesX and Main.maxTilesY - two ints that hold the size of the currently played world.
    Main.worldSurface - the distance in tiles , from the top of the map (edge of the sky) to the part where brown background starts to form.

On Tile stuff...

Tile.active - this is a boolean that indicates whether there is a tile in the front layer in this tile slot in the world , to explain it better if you see dirt a tile is active and once you mine it , active is set to false.