How do you make a Terraria server?

Discussion in 'PC' started by Nataru, May 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    My friend wanted me to start one. Wondering if anyone knows how >.>
     
    #1
  2. TechnoFreak

    TechnoFreak Blazing Wheel

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    172
    Start a server, when it loads run another client and you can use your ip to login i think
     
    #2
  3. Mendoza231

    Mendoza231 Cursed Skull

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    50
    if im correct, you are correct
     
    #3
  4. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay thanks!
     
    #4
  5. conoreva

    conoreva Demon Eye

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    5
    can i join your server?
     
    #5
  6. Thraka

    Thraka Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there no dedicated server software?? :(
     
    #6
  7. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Um... I do that and it says this:
    [​IMG]
     
    #7
  8. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Btw its only gonna be me and my friend (as of now)
     
    #8
  9. ReceptiveRaptor

    ReceptiveRaptor Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you port forward to 31337? on UDP?
     
    #9
  10. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm also running this on a server separate from my computer but on the same network, the it said about the same thing when I ran it on my own computer and tried to log in. :(
     
    #10
  11. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm afraid I don't know what UDP is. I've only hosted one server before for MineCraft, and it wasn't very good. I'm afraid I'm kind of new to this.
     
    #11
  12. ReceptiveRaptor

    ReceptiveRaptor Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    #12
  13. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    What do I enter for IP when I'm in the router? My own? (A.K.A. My server's)
     
    #13
  14. Thraka

    Thraka Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You dont need to do routing when you're working on a LAN. Only for internet connections. You probably have a firewall on the computer (windows firewall or other) and you need to open port 31337 on UDP and woul do TCP just to be safe.
     
    #14
  15. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Anyway I did what the video said, named it Terraria, set it to 31337 - 31337, set it to Both, and entered the end of my ip (102) into the ip line. Still says the same thing. What is wrong with it?
     
    #15
  16. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tried running it on the same computer with it port forwarded, added ports to my firewall, turned my firewall OFF, and it STILL doesn't work. I'm at a loss...
     
    #16
  17. Nataru

    Nataru Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Apparently since I'd need another copy of Terraria on my server to run said server, I'll have to run it on my main computer. So... Anyone know how I can get it to work?
     
    #17
  18. nitebomber51

    nitebomber51 Green Slime

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont know what you insane people are going about what i do to run it is a programme which comes with terraria in the default directory for the game called "server start"

    run through everything with that then run the game and go to host and play then get your friend to join using your local IP address the it should work
     
    #18
  19. Atlas™

    Atlas™ Bone Serpent

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    301
    This thread was made the day of release.
    Great job, you revived it.
     
    #19
  20. Asgard

    Asgard Green Slime

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    68
    #20
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page