Pre 1.2 How To: Install Terraria in Mac OS X (Video)

Discussion in 'Guides' started by Kaikz, May 25, 2011.

  1. Kaikz

    Kaikz Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5


    It's start to finish, starting with the Windows 7 installation and config, as well as the Steam, Direct3D, .NET and XNA installs.

    Edit: Here's the game running on basically, the lowest end x86 Mac you can get:
     
    #1
    Saint likes this.
  2. Garethbah92

    Garethbah92 Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    The title should be, "How To: Install Terraria in Virtual Machine(Video)
     
    #2
  3. Patchumz

    Patchumz Dark Caster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    145
    It's fine, and I know lots of people wanted this guide, so very nice!
     
    #3
  4. Kaikz

    Kaikz Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Regardless if it is a VM or not, it was made in OS X and runs in OS X.
     
    #4
  5. Saint

    Saint Demon Eye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    20
    I added this to my post about a Terraria port for Mac, Good work!
     
    #5
  6. tr4656

    tr4656 Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    At least title the thread that it was uses VM.
     
    #6
  7. Patchumz

    Patchumz Dark Caster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    145
    Fine, It's How to install Terraria on a Mac, such a pointless argument you feel like carrying on with.
     
    #7
  8. superkawaiiest

    superkawaiiest Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a pointless argument but still a legitimate gripe since there's a pretty big difference between having a game actually function straight up on OS X compared to needing VM software, a copy of Windows and the time to install it.
     
    #8
  9. Arc111111

    Arc111111 Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    24
    Pointless argument ? It's a HUGE deal. Installing a game on a VM slows the game down considerably. Just look at the video, it's not even PLAYABLE.
     
    #9
  10. LaughingMan

    LaughingMan Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you have an x86 Mac and a copy of Windows, and you're going to use up as much space as a regular Windows install creating a VM, why not just install Windows via Bootcamp and run Terraria natively in the first place? It'd run better and it's probably slightly easier to do.
     
    #10
  11. Kaikz

    Kaikz Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Because you need to shut down OS X and go into Windows. I'd rather keep my smexy IRC & Twitter clients in OS X.

    If you even bothered to take notice of the annotation midway through it, it says I have an Intel GMA 950, which even in Windows, XNA apps crash when using the GMA 950 for graphics. And the default Terraria frameskip causes that horrible lag.

    I'm uploading a video of it in my other VM. (the "Windows 7" one, frameskip off) See the OP.
     
    #11
  12. Patchumz

    Patchumz Dark Caster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    145
    Not at all, first realize he's filming, which wrecks even the best computers usually, and then read his post above. Suboptimal environment + video capture == bad, generally. But without it, game runs at a constant 40+ FPS.
     
    #12
  13. DreadFear

    DreadFear Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    140
    Should post this on the facebook wall, lots of people asking about playing on mac there
     
    #13
  14. HIllyAus

    HIllyAus Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    This bears well for the latest MacBook Pro line up then, if GMA can run it, I should be fine. Thanks for the heads up!
     
    #14
  15. phlip9

    phlip9 Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    #15
  16. Kaikz

    Kaikz Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    #16
  17. Kazzae

    Kazzae Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just used bootcamp to run Windows 7 and Terraria worked just fine.

    Using something like Parallels didnt work.

    The only problem i get using a Mac running Windows in each time i go from Fullscreen to Window mode in Terraria it resets my screen resolution which can get annoying but at least i can play this awesome game =)
     
    #17
  18. Patchumz

    Patchumz Dark Caster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    145
    Stay away from Parallels, it's a hog. VMWare Fusion and VirtualBox are better alternatives, if you ever plan to use a VM.
     
    #18
  19. Kaikz

    Kaikz Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just installed VMWare Fusion and I get a better FPS in Terraria than in VirtualBox. Odd.
     
    #19
  20. Supermassive

    Supermassive Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish I would have seen this when I first got Terraria. I spent 7 hours bashing my head in trying to get it to work. I finnally did through Parralells.

    But the strange thing is, on two seperate computers it WILL NOT run on bootcamp, but will in parrallels.
    Which, kind of sucks, becuase running in a VM results in higher cpu usage.
    if anyone has figured out how to make it run in bootcamp, hit me up. I kept running into a "direct3d" error, which according to google searches, meant my video card didnt support it.
     
    #20

Share This Page