How to spawn ores in old worlds?

Discussion in 'Released Mods' started by arkoth, Nov 29, 2012.

1. arkoth Green Slime

Hi everyone, I'm new here. I've been lurking this forum gathering some really cool mods to play with. I downloaded some mods that have new ore types, but I want to be able to use my old worlds instead of generating a new one.

My question is how can I spawn a type of ore in my old worlds? In this case, carbon ore from warmaster949's awesome CoD mod.

http://www.terrariaonline.com/threads/wip-nazi-zombies-weapon-mod.63352/

I have basic coding knowledge (VERY basic) but am good with instructions. Thank you all in advance!

Best,
    Arkoth
  2. Shockah Grandson of the Wizard

You can't. Imagine having your creations broken because of the ore being generated.
  3. Bobrocket WANTS TO PUNCH STUFF

you CAN, but it is very risky
    Code:
    //add ores (from Mechanica)
                        if (y >= hellLevel + Main.rand.Next(135, 140))
                        {
                            if (Main.rand.Next(0, 30) == 5) //copper
                            {
                                WorldGen.OreRunner(x, y, (double)Main.rand.Next(5, 10), Main.rand.Next(5, 9), 7);
                            }
                            else if (Main.rand.Next(0, 50) == 5) //iron
                            {
                                WorldGen.OreRunner(x, y, (double)Main.rand.Next(5, 10), Main.rand.Next(5, 9), 6);
                            }
                            else if (Main.rand.Next(0, 65) == 5) //silver
                            {
                                WorldGen.OreRunner(x, y, (double)Main.rand.Next(5, 10), Main.rand.Next(5, 9), 9);
                            }
                            else if (Main.rand.Next(0, 100) == 5) //gold
                            {
                                WorldGen.OreRunner(x, y, (double)Main.rand.Next(5, 10), Main.rand.Next(5, 9), 8);
                            }