Play without Steam!

Discussion in 'PC' started by Esthin, May 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Esthin

    Esthin Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    226
    So a lot of people hate Steam for some reason, and don't want to use it.
    Well, I discovered a way by accident when I was looking for my world saves.

    If you navigate to this directory:
    C:/Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/terraria *

    There will be an .EXE file named "Terraria" (Bet you didn't see that one coming)
    If you boot up this file, Terraria will launch without having to have Steam open in the first place.

    I feel this will be helpful to a lot of people who want to play without using the Steam program.
    Leave a reply or a like, let me know it helped you!

    * In a 64 Bit Windows OS, the path will be C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/terraria

    Please, keep this thread in the front page for others to see, maybe we can get it stickied :)

    This no longer works, as a recent patch fixed this.
     
    #1
    Lonewalker, Aguspal, SASMarco and 3 others like this.
  2. TheWolfie

    TheWolfie Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    568
    you can do that with every nonvalve steam game lmao

    i gess this is your first time useing steam
     
    #2
  3. H3xer1n

    H3xer1n Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    25
    now show us a way to play terraria without ever having to sign up for, install, download, or interact with steam
     
    #3
    robly18 and Keromega like this.
  4. Esthin

    Esthin Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    226
    Not true, I have to use Steam to start the large majority of my games.

    I've had Steam for about 3 years now, so no, It's not my first time.
    The idea of this post was to help other people use it without Steam.
     
    #4
  5. TheWolfie

    TheWolfie Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    568
    opps sorry, just asumed lol
     
    #5
  6. Esthin

    Esthin Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    226
    :p
    I love Steam personally, I just know lot's of people complained about having it as the program to launch and buy Terraria.
     
    #6
  7. Toraxa

    Toraxa Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    64
    The problem is that people start doing this and suddenly everyone's on the forums asking where all the updates are, and/or asking where to find the patches.
     
    #7
    robly18 and countchocula86 like this.
  8. Opirian

    Opirian Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    17
    That's not a windows 7 thing that is a 64 bit OS thing >.> I don't know why I pointed that out...
     
    #8
  9. darkie

    darkie Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I agree, and the patches seem to be quite significant - the one last night made hosting a game on windows 7 less of an immense CPU load and more of an enjoyment.
     
    #9
  10. Sykozen

    Sykozen Green Slime

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, but keep in mind you'll need to check if there are any updates out! Because it won't update without Steam.
    Btw, I'm a Steam "lover" too. I use it for 4 years now.
     
    #10
  11. Esthin

    Esthin Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    226
    Ohhhh right.
    I'll fix that :p
     
    #11
  12. Mugwump

    Mugwump Cursed Man

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't run it at all unless I start it with the steam shortcut. Running the .exe directly does nothing...
     
    #12
  13. Esthin

    Esthin Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    226
    Strange...
    What OS are you running?

    It works on Windows 7 64Bit
     
    #13
  14. eyeball226

    eyeball226 Cave Bat

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    15
    Did you have Steam running in the background or was Steam completely closed? If it's the latter, this is exactly what I've been hoping to hear!
     
    #14
  15. eyeball226

    eyeball226 Cave Bat

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ok, bought this and it turned out not to be true. Cracked it instead.
     
    #15
  16. Alluvian_Est-Endrati

    Alluvian_Est-Endrati Green Slime

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    91
    I am running Windows 7 64bit and Terraria will not start without steam already running. Attempted what you described in the OP when I had trouble connecting to the steam network this evening and the Terraria binary would not run.
     
    #16
  17. Decysp

    Decysp Squirrel

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait, so this means i can take the terraria file from steamapps and put it in a USB and it will be portable? ^-^? hmmhmmmhmmh?
     
    #17
  18. Bob_The Angry Bunny

    Bob_The Angry Bunny Doctor Bones

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    35
    just wait, they plan on integrating steamworks. It will prevent this from happening, and help prevent cracks.
     
    #18
  19. eyeball226

    eyeball226 Cave Bat

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well, it'll just slow the cracks down. They'll still happen though (and I'll be thankful for them).
     
    #19
  20. The_ShadoW

    The_ShadoW Doctor Bones

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    82
    No Steam game will run without steam client. OP just had a client running in background, this way of launching is the same as doing it from client.

    If you shut down steam client, it won't work.
     
    #20
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page